Distinguished Service Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize the outstanding achievements and long term service to the practice of hospital pharmacy of a member of the society.

Award Description
This award will be given to a member of CSHP-BC Branch who has shown significant and extensive contribution to hospital pharmacy at the local, provincial and national level. The award recipient may choose one of the two options below:

Option 1) A plaque, cash award of $1500, and a $500 donation to the CSHP Research and Education Foundation made in honor of the winner.

Option 2) A plaque, travel award of $500.00 towards an out-of-town CSHP event, a lifetime complimentary registration to any local CSHP-BC event, and a $500 donation to the CSHP Research made in honor of the winner.

Eligibility/Application Deadline
The candidate must be an active member of the CSHP-BC Branch and have been a member of CSHP-BC Branch for a minimum of 15 years. Nominations shall be requested from the CSHP-BC Branch membership. Nominations shall be made by two active members of the CSHP-BC Branch. Nominations shall be submitted to the Awards Committee in writing, or on-line via the Branch web site, no later than September 30.

Click here for the Nomination Form

Selection Criteria
The nomination should consist of:

  • A letter (two pages maximum) describing the individual’s contribution to hospital pharmacy, signed by both nominators.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.
Nominations shall be reviewed by the CSHP-BC Branch Council and shall be selected based on:
  • Professional Experience - professional, academic, research, etc. in pharmacy or related fields
  • Service to the profession
  • Professional service to the community
  • Membership in professional organizations
  • Involvement in CSHP and other professional organizations
  • Publications
  • Provision of education and/or mentoring
  • Special activities and/or areas of major contributions

Award Presentation
The award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.


Past Recipients

  • 1985 Jack Dancey
  • 1986 David du Plessis
  • 1990 Allan Brooks
  • 1995 Louanne Twaites
  • 1996 Don Hamilton
  • 1997 Glen Brown
  • 1998 Ken McGregor
  • 2003 Robin Ensom
  • 2004 Peter Jewesson
  • 2008 Richard Slavik
  • 2009 John Hope
  • 2010 Luciana Frigetto
  • 2012 Mits Miyata
  • 2013 Marianna Leung
  • 2014 Mary H.H. Ensom
  • 2015 Nilu Partovi
  • 2016 Bruce Millin